List of Universities in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana States

30 Jul 2015    11:37 am

List of Universities in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana States

The emphasis on higher education in India can be understood by the number of universities currently present in India and the quality of education they provide. As of 2014, there are 677 universities, 37,204 colleges and 11443 stand-alone institutions in India, as per the latest statistics from the website of India's HRD ministry. These numbers would only have increased by now.

  • 201 private universities
  • 45 central Universities
  • 1 central/ national open university
  • 13 state open Universities
  • 73 institutes of national importance (INI)
  • 290 state public universities
  • 5 institute under state legislature act
  • 38 deemed universities (Government)
  • 11 deemed universities (Government Aided)
  • 3 other universities

Did you know?

  1. There are no universities in Andaman & Nicobar Islands,  Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu and Lakshadweep
  2. The maximum number of universities are in Uttar Pradesh (59), followed closely by Tamil Nadu (56) and Andhra Pradesh (47.)
  3. Goa only has two universities.
  4. The number of students enrolled in universities/ colleges for higher education is more than 2.9 crores (2,96,29,022 to be exact) out of which 1.6 crores are boys and 1.3 crores are girls.
  5. 11.9 percent of these students study through distance education.
  6. The Gross Enrolment Ratio (GER) in higher education in India is currently 21.1.
  7. The states with the most number of colleges (in descending order) are Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Karnataka, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadhu and Madhya Pradesh.
  8. The Pupil Teacher Ratio (PTR) in higher education (universities & colleges) is 23 i.e. there is one teacher for 23 students.

Different type of Universities in Andhra Pradesh:

After the split of Andhra Pradesh into two states in June, 2014, many universities have now become a part of the new state, Telangana. As a result, AP has no central university left in the state, as all three are part of Telangana.

The Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014, has promised  one IIT, one NIT, one IIM, one IISER, one Central University, one Petroleum University, one Agricultural University and one IIIT in Andhra Pradesh in the 12th & 13th Plan periods.

Below is the list of universities that are currently in Andhra Pradesh:

State Universities

  1. Acharya Nagarjuna University
  2. Andhra University
  3. Adikavi Nannaya University
  4. Bharathidasan University
  5. Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University
  6. Dr. B.R. Ambedkar University, Srikakulam
  7. Dravidian University
  8. Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Anantapur
  9. Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Kakinada
  10. Krishna University
  11. NTR Health University (formerly Andhra Pradesh University of Health Sciences)
  12. Rayalaseema University
  13. Sri Krishnadevaraya University
  14. Sri Padmavathi Mahila Visvavidyalayam
  15. Sri Venkateswara University
  16. Sri Venkateswara Vedic University, Tirupati
  17. Sri Venkateswara Veterinary University , Tirupati
  18. Vikrama Simhapuri University, Nellore   
  19. Yogi Vemana University, Kadapa

Deemed Universities

  1. Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha
  2. Gandhi Institute of Technology and Management (GITAM University)
  3. K L University (Koneru Lakshmaiah Education Foundation), Guntur
  4. Sri Sathya Sai University
  5. Vignan's Foundation For Science, Technology & Research University (Vignan University), Guntur


  1. Sri Venkateswara Institute of Medical Sciences

Different type of Universities in Telangana:

The newly formed state of Telangana (established on 2 June, 2014) is home to 3 central universities and14 state-funded universities. Since it was separated from the state of Andhra Pradesh (AP) and has Hyderabad as its capital city, many universities that were previously part of AP, will now fall under the jurisdiction of Telangana.

The Government of India shall establish a Tribal University and a Horticulture University inTelangana over the 12th & 13th Plan period.

The universities and colleges that are part of Telangana now are those that are in cities such as Hyderabad, Warangal, Nizamabad, Karimnagar, Ramagundam, and Nalgonda. The universities of Telangana are renowned and distinguished, offering courses that are recognised for their quality.

The Linguistics and Journalism department of Osmania University was awarded the "Centre for Advanced Study" (CAS) status in the latest review in January 2015 by an expert committee of the University Grants Commission (UGC.)

The Potti Sriramulu Telugu University, one of the few language universities in India, is shared by both Telangana and Andhra Pradesh as it has three campuses in AP at Rajahmundry, Srisailam and Kuchipudi and two in Telangana at Hyderabad and Warangal.

Below is the list of universities that are currently in Telangana:

Central Universities

1.    University of Hyderabad
2.    English and Foreign Languages University, Hyderabad
3.    Maulana Azad National Urdu University, Hyderabad

State universities

1.    Acharya N.G.Ranga Agricultural University, Hyderabad
2.    Dr. B.R.Ambedkar Open University, Hyderabad 
3.    Jawaharlal Nehru Architecture and Fine Arts University (JNAFAU), Hyderabad
4.    Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University, Hyderabad (JNTU-H)
5.    Kakatiya University
6.    Mahatma Gandhi University, Nalgonda
7.    National Academy of Legal Studies & Research University (NALSAR), Hyderabad
8.    Nizam's Institute of Medical Sciences
9.    Osmania University, Hyderabad
10.    Palamuru University
11.    Potti Sreeramulu Telugu University
12.    Rajiv Gandhi University of Knowledge Technology
13.    Satavahana University
14.    Telangana University